Fashion · Makes

Autumn / winter sewing plans

As summer is for sure pretty much over now, and colder autumnal days are approaching at a scarily fast pace, I’m now planning some autumn/ winter potential makes. Normally I would have made a few creations already but for one reason or another I have yet too.

I thought I would share some of my inspo- courtesy of pinterest, and maybe it will spur me on to get making!

autumn outfot

One of the items I am planning on, is of course a new pinafore dress.  As you may or may not know I’m a big pinafore, dungaree and jumpsuit lover/wearer! So, it’s only right I start the new season as I mean to go on with a new pinni to cheer me up when I am forced to face the English winter!! They are such great items to have as they can be worn casual over jumpers and tee’s paired with trainers or flats, and for dressier days, over nice shirts and with a good pair of boots. I like how they are comfy yet you look like some effort has gone into the outfit!  So, fabric wise I was thinking maybe a black denim, or maybe an oxblood faux leather or even a lovely wintery floral print. I also like the idea of having a chunky exposed zip at the front. Although that may mean a pattern hack and I’m not sure I am up for the challenge!

When it comes to A/W I still enjoy and require colour in my wardrobe. It cheers me up and brightens up some of my duller outfits. So I may end up moving away from the black denim idea, to something a little more jazzy!

black pini

Another item I’m planning on is the perfect Tartan shirt. I already have a pattern I really love its vogue 7700 and the fit of it is lovely, oversized with a good length to the body. So, I am potentially going to opt for a winter tartan in a dark green or blue, or a lovely printed flannel or brushed cotton. I want to make it in a soft cosy, warm fabric so it’s great for the cold weather. Hopefully it will be a regular go to staple item in my wardrobe. Again, a great item for layering with gillets, jumpers or worn open over fun t shirts! I have a few more plans but let’s see how I get on with these first, I shall do a post on both items if they are a success, if not I won’t I’ll put them in the annoying sewing disaster section of my sewing room and pretend they never existed! Fingers crossed!

tartan 2

september 170

Happy Sewing !

Leave a Reply

